Quantum practices a strict separation of powers between the non-profit organization set up to support the journal, and the editorial process and handling of submissions in the journal itself.

The internal structure of Quantum consists of the steering and executive boards (which belong to the NGO), and the coordinating and regular editors (who serve on the editorial board of the journal).

All of the above are full-time researchers who volunteer their time for Quantum. In addition, Quantum has hired management assistants to help with the running of the journal. Last but not least, Quantum is always open to feedback and contributions from the wider quantum research community.


Steering Board

The members of the Steering Board provide long-term guidance for the journal, select editors, and hold the ultimate power of decision for all important aspects of the journal. Being honorary members of the non-profit organization backing Quantum, they hold the majority of voting rights. Consists of high-profile senior researchers, serving at least three-year terms.


Editorial Board

Coordinating editors:


Former Editors:

  • Agata Branczyk, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics/University of Waterloo, Canada (2016 – 2018)
  • Gabriele De Chiara, Queen’s University Belfast, UK (2016 – 2019)
  • Ivette Fuentes, University of Vienna, Austria (2016 – 2018)
  • Stacey Jeffery, CWI and QuSoft, The Netherlands (2016 – 2019)
  • Christian Kurtsiefer, Centre for Quantum Technologies / Nat. Univ. Singapore (2016 – 2019)
  • Ashley Montanaro, University of Bristol, UK (2016 – 2020)
  • Maris Ozols, QuSoft & University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands (2020)
  • Marco Piani, University of Strathclyde, UK (2016 – 2018)
  • Sven Ramelow, Humboldt University Berlin, Germany (2016 – 2018)
  • Thomas Vidick, California Institute of Technology, USA (2016 – 2020)
  • Andrew White, University of Queensland, Australia (2016 – 2018)

Quantum ran an open call for editors in September 2016, with over 130 applications, from which the steering board selected Quantum’s forty founding editors.  In addition, Quantum has a list of Reserve Editors, who are activated when an active editor retires or the workload in a subfield becomes too high. The first renewal and expansion of the editorial board took place in Autumn 2018, under consultation of the steering board.


Executive Board

The members of the Executive Board manage logistics, funding, administrative aspects, publicity, and hold positions in the presidency of the non-profit organization backing Quantum.


Management Assistants

These are the only paid staff at Quantum, hired in December 2017 to assist the executive board in running the journal.

  • Mariana Munárriz  (accounting, secretariat)
  • Lukas Schalleck (editorial process)


Further Contributors

  • Paul Erker (legal advice)
  • Chris Ferrie (Quantum Leaps)
  • Nicolai Friis (deputy president, accounting)
  • Manuela Gogolin (design, proofreading)
  • Simon Gogolin (design)
  • Christopher Granade (LaTeX template, code of conduct)
  • Sarah Kaiser (code of conduct)
  • Johannes Meyer (LaTeX template)
  • Julia Riederer (design)
  • James Wootton (reddit, /u/quantum_jim)
  • Martin Schwarz (controlling)
  • Lukas Edengruber (controlling)

Whisperer: Matthew F. Pusey